All Biobased and Renewable Products News

February 14, 2014
Purdue University Researcher Awarded Funds For Renewable Chemical Research
On February 5, 2014, Purdue University announced that three researchers in the University's colleges of Engineering and Science received more than $130,000 from the Trask Innovation Fund to develop their work. One of these researchers was awarded $50,000 for "Selective Catalysis for the Production of High Value Flavor and Fragrance Chemicals from Wood Biomass." A copy of Purdue University's press release is available ... read more >
February 14, 2014
Monsanto And Novozymes Close BioAg Alliance
On February 10, 2014, Monsanto issued a press release announcing that Monsanto and Novozymes are closing The BioAg Alliance. According to the release, "[t]he announcement follows the satisfaction of relevant closing conditions and the receipt of required regulatory approvals. Both companies will now focus on implementing the long-term strategic alliance. The BioAg Alliance is unique in the industry, bringing together Novozymes' commercial BioAg operations and capabilities within microbial discovery, development and production with Monsanto's microbial discovery, advanced ... read more >
February 14, 2014
AVA Biochem Begins Production Of Renewable 5-HMF
AVA Biochem has announced that "commercial scale production of the high-purity renewable platform chemical 5-Hydroxymethylfurfural (5-HMF) has started at the Biochem-1 facility operated by AVA Biochem in Muttenz, Switzerland." This renewable 5-HMF will be used in a variety of applications, including chemicals and products. A copy of AVA Biochem's press release is available ... read more >
February 7, 2014
President Obama Expected To Sign New Farm Bill Into Law This Week
President Obama is expected to sign H.R. 2642, the Agriculture Act of 2014 (the new five-year Farm Bill), into law on Friday at Michigan State University in East Lansing, Michigan. He is scheduled to speak there about the importance of the legislation. The Farm Bill is critically significant to the biofuels and renewable chemicals and products industries because the new Farm Bill continues and expands on the majority of the energy programs covered under the 2008 Farm Bill and provides $881 million in mandatory funding to carry them out. For instance, the new Farm Bill continues the ... read more >
February 7, 2014
House Energy And Commerce Subcommittee Holds Fifth Hearing On TSCA Reform
On February 4, 2014, the House Committee on Energy and Commerce's Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy held its fifth hearing this term on potential reform of the Toxic Substances Control Act of 1976 (TSCA). The Subcommittee is working on drafting its version of a TSCA reform bill. This latest hearing focused on potential reforms to Sections 4 and 8 of the law. TSCA Section 4 covers when and under what circumstances the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) may require chemical substances to be tested, and TSCA Section 8 authorizes EPA to keep an inventory of potentially ... read more >
February 7, 2014
Senate EPW Subcommittee Holds Hearing On West Virginia Spill
On February 4, 2014, the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works' Subcommittee on Water and Wildlife held a hearing on "Examination of the Safety and Security of Drinking Water Supplies Following the Central West Virginia Drinking Water Crisis." A full list of witnesses is available online. Senator Mark Udall (D-CO) spoke at the hearing and stressed the need for reform of TSCA in the wake of the January 9, 2014, chemical spill in West Virginia. Senator Udall has been working closely with Senator David Vitter (R-LA) to make improvements to CSIA (S. 1009), the ... read more >
February 7, 2014
Upcoming House Transportation And Infrastructure Committee Hearing On West Virginia Spill And Ways To Increase Future Chemical Safety
On February 10, 2014, the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure is scheduled to hold a field hearing in Charleston, West Virginia, to examine the effects of and response to the January 9, 2014, chemical spill into the Elk River. More information on the hearing is available ... read more >
February 7, 2014
New DOE Funding Opportunity For Production Of Biobased Carbon Fiber
On February 3, 2014, the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy announced that up to $12 million in funding would be made available to advance the production of cost-competitive, high-performance carbon finer material from renewable non-food based feedstocks. Feedstocks could include agriculture residues and woody biomass. This funding supports DOE's Clean Energy Manufacturing Initiative. A copy of DOE's press release on this announcement is available ... read more >
February 7, 2014
Monroe Energy Files New Lawsuit Challenging EPA On RFS
Monroe Energy, LLC (Monroe), a refinery and subsidiary of Delta Airlines, has filed another lawsuit challenging EPA's implementation of the federal Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS). In this latest suit, Monroe argues that blenders, not refiners and importers, of fuel should be deemed the obligated parties under the RFS. Monroe does not have blending capacity like some larger refiners. Monroe asserts that the fact that EPA in its proposed rule to set the 2014 RFS renewable volume obligations (RVO) now proposes to consider the practical ability to blend the amounts of renewable fuels ... read more >
February 7, 2014
EPA Files Brief Supporting Its 2013 RFS Final Rule
On February 4, 2014, EPA filed a 113 page brief in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia. In its brief, EPA attempts to defend its final rule setting the 2013 RFS in the face of challenges to it by Monroe, the American Petroleum Institute, and American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers. EPA argues that it was reasonable to maintain the total renewable and advanced biofuel levels under the RFS statute for 2013 because it determined that sufficient compliance options would be available to obligated parties to comply with the requirements that year. The court has not yet ... read more >
‹ First  < 171 172 173 174 175 >  Last › View 10 | 25 | 50 | 100 per page
2200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Suite 100W
Washington, D.C. 20037
202-833-6580 |
Privacy Policy | Acceptable Use Policy 
©2021 Biobased And Renewable Products Advocacy Group
All Rights Reserved.